2024 Reading Challenge

2024 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 1 book toward her goal of 285 books.
hide

2023 Reading Challenge

2023 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 5 books toward her goal of 265 books.
hide

Excerpt: Rakiya: Stories of Bulgaria by Ellis Shuman

About the Book

Bulgaria, probably a country you know little about. In this new collection of short stories you’ll hear the voices of native Bulgarians as well as see the country through the eyes of those visiting Bulgaria for the first time. You’ll experience Bulgaria’s unique rich history and traditions and explore the country’s picturesque villages and stunning nature. You’ll get a virtual taste of Bulgarian cuisine topped off with the country’s traditional alcoholic drink – rakiya. Continue reading Excerpt: Rakiya: Stories of Bulgaria by Ellis Shuman

Excerpt: Darien Shockra and The Bermuda Triangle – Part 1 by David Kneisler and Stefan Lukjanczuk 

About the Book

Heroes that protect the Universe are merely myths and legends…as is the Bermuda Triangle. The balance of good and evil have shifted and there is only one way for this balance to be restored. Lucifer and Ophidion lead the army of evil. War threatens to consume the Universe. Kai, a mystic sage from the farthest known solar system of Harikane, is called to help restore balance, along with a loveable cat named Nebula who can communicate through telepathy. Three dear friends, whose bloodline originates from the mysterious planet of Nibiru, have been raised in the Bermuda Triangle completely unaware that they are destined to become the protectors of the Universe, known as the Tritem. Continue reading Excerpt: Darien Shockra and The Bermuda Triangle – Part 1 by David Kneisler and Stefan Lukjanczuk 

Excerpt: The Paris Widow by Kimberly Belle

About the Book

From USA Today bestselling author Kimberly Belle comes a deliciously twisty new thriller following a married couple vacationing in Paris whose trip takes a dark turn when the husband goes missing, dredging up secrets from both of their pasts, perfect for fans of THE PARIS APARTMENT.

When Stella met Adam, she felt like she finally landed a nice, normal guy – a welcome change from her previous boyfriend and her precarious jetsetter lifestyle with him. She loves knowing she can always depend on Adam, which is why when he goes missing during a random explosion in Paris, she panics. Right after what is assumed to be a terrorist attack, she’s interviewed live on TV by reporters, begging anyone who knows anything about her husband’s whereabouts to come forward and is quickly dubbed “The Paris Widow.” Continue reading Excerpt: The Paris Widow by Kimberly Belle

Excerpt: In the Hour of Crows by Dana Elmendorf

About the Book

In a small town in rural Georgia, Appalachian roots and traditions still run deep. Folks paint their houses blue to keep the spirits way. Black ferns grow, it’s said, where death will follow. And Weatherly Wilder’s grandmother is a local Granny Witch, relied on for help delivering babies, making herbal remedies, tending to the sick—and sometimes serving up a fatal dose of revenge when she deems it worthy. Hyper-religious, she rules Weatherly with an iron fist; because Weatherly has a rare and covetable gift: she’s a Death Talker. Weatherly, when called upon, can talk the death out of the dying; only once, never twice. But in her short twenty years on this Earth this gift has taken a toll, rooting her to the small town that only wants her around when they need her and resents her backwater ways when they don’t—and how could she ever leave, if it meant someone could die while she was gone? Continue reading Excerpt: In the Hour of Crows by Dana Elmendorf

Excerpt: The Library Thief by Kuchenga Shenjé

About the Book

A strikingly original and absorbing mystery about a white-passing bookbinder in Victorian England and the secrets lurking on the estate where she works, for fans of Fingersmith and The Confessions of Frannie Langton  Continue reading Excerpt: The Library Thief by Kuchenga Shenjé