2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 3 books toward her goal of 245 books.
hide

Book Review: Prodigal Son by Greg Hurwitz

This is honestly one of the best action series I’ve stumbled across… Evan Smoak is a marvelous character – complex, troubled, engaging, imperfect, and snarky. I really enjoy watching his character continue to develop here, particularly with regard to his interpersonal relationships (I want to say more but it’d be a huge spoiler)… Joey is turning into a major element of the series, which I also really like – it would be cool to see her get a spin-off of her own! Continue reading Book Review: Prodigal Son by Greg Hurwitz

Excerpt: Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd

Today I’m pleased to bring you another in the Harlequin Trade Publishing Fall Mystery Thriller blog tour! This time we’ve got Wrong Alibi. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd delivers an all-new thriller, featuring a bold and brash female protagonist.

About the Book
WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run. Continue reading Excerpt: Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd

I Don’t Know How, But I Managed to Surpass My 2020 Reading Goal!

Despite a great start, a slow middle, a near-halt at 3/4 of the way, and a race to the finish in the 11th hour, I am pleased to report that I managed to hit my 2020 reading goal of 240 books (and exceeded it by one)! If you’re curious where those 241 books took me, check out my GoodReads page by clicking the image…


https://www.goodreads.com/user/year_in_books/2020/5216946

Excerpt: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder by T.A. Willberg

Today I’m pleased to bring you another entry in the Harlequin Trade Publishing Fall Blog Mystery Thriller Tour. The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle meets Magpie Murders in this atmospheric locked room murder mystery set in 1950’s London, introducing Marion Lane, a bookish detective-in-training and exciting new heroine in fiction. Enjoy!

About the Book
The letter was short. A name, a time, a place.

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder plunges readers into the heart of London, to the secret tunnels that exist far beneath the city streets. There, a mysterious group of detectives recruited for Miss Brickett’s Investigations & Inquiries use their cunning and gadgets to solve crimes that have stumped Scotland Yard. Continue reading Excerpt: Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder by T.A. Willberg

Happy New Year!

Let’s face it – 2020 kind of sucked. But now it’s 2021. Sure, many things still seem to suck. But here’s hoping they’re not going to last… Happy New Year, see you next week with more books!