2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 3 books toward her goal of 245 books.
hide

Excerpt: The Chanel Sisters by Judithe Little

Today I’m pleased to bring you an excerpt from a new book in the Harlequin Trade Publishing Fall Historical Fiction blog tour. For fans of The Paris Wife, The Only Woman in the Room, and The Woman Before Wallis, The Chanel Sisters is a riveting historical novel narrated by Coco Chanel’s younger sister about their struggle to rise up from poverty and orphanhood and establish what will become the world’s most iconic fashion brand in Paris.

About the Book
A novel of survival, love, loss, triumph—and the sisters who changed fashion forever

Antoinette and Gabrielle “Coco” Chanel know they’re destined for something better. Abandoned by their family at a young age, they’ve grown up under the guidance of nuns preparing them for simple lives as the wives of tradesmen or shopkeepers. At night, their secret stash of romantic novels and magazine cutouts beneath the floorboards are all they have to keep their dreams of the future alive. Continue reading Excerpt: The Chanel Sisters by Judithe Little

Book Review: The Dark Archive by Genevieve Cogman

Oh my goodness but I love love LOVE this series!! Genevieve Cogman has done an absolutely brilliant job writing an omage to libraries and readers and lovers of language… The characters are marvelous, the ongoing developing story is a long-range marvel of intricate back and forths that are teased out from book to book. Additionally, each book has a delightfully new angle of its own that brings together character development and backstory revelations while still providing a new and entertaining mystery to be resolved. Continue reading Book Review: The Dark Archive by Genevieve Cogman

Happy Holidays!!

I’m taking the day off. It’s Christmas and a strange one this year for many reasons (both personal and global), but one thing remains the same: it’s a good time to say thank you and gather up those you love and remind them what they mean to you… So give someone (be it person or animal) you love a hug (be it real or virtual) and I’ll see you next week!

Happy Holidays Calligraphy Vector Text With Colorful Hand Drawn Snowflakes Over White Background

Book Review Blurb: The Hilarious World of Depression by John Moe

This was an entertaining, moving peek behind the curtain of clinical depression (“Clinny D”). I wasn’t familiar with Moe or THWoD podcasts/online presence, but love the idea. Bringing well-known celebrities and personalities into the conversation to talk frankly about their struggles and successes is a brilliant way to begin to demystify and de-stigmatize depression, and Moe’s meld of his own experiences with those of his interviewees was an engaging, entertaining, and heartfelt way to do this. There are truly laugh-out-loud moments (hard as that may be to imagine), followed by stories that will break your heart. The highs-and-lows of this presentation style mimic the highs and lows experienced by those living with clinical depression, and made for a very authentic read that resonated.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my obligation-free review copy.

Book Review and Excerpt: The Last to See Her by Courtney Evan Tate

Today I’m pleased to bring you the first in a series of books from the Fall 2020 Mystery/Thriller Blog Tour from Harlequin Trade Publishing. Keep your eyes out for the others in the banner, they’ll appear over the course of the next number of weeks… Enjoy!

About the Book
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Courtney Evan Tate’s The Last to See Her (MIRA; 12/29) is a twisty, fast-paced domestic suspense about sisters, secrets and betrayal–for fans of B.A. Paris and Riley Sager.

Genevieve, a writer, is about to finalize her divorce from her cheating husband Todd. So when her sister Meg, an ambitious physician, has a convention to attend in New York City, she invites Gen along to celebrate her return to single life. It will be a perfect sisters’ getaway in the big city! But things go awry when, on their first evening at the hotel, Gen decides to take a late night walk and disappears without a trace. Eventually she is officially declared a missing person. Continue reading Book Review and Excerpt: The Last to See Her by Courtney Evan Tate