2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 3 books toward her goal of 245 books.
hide

Book Review: Lava Red, Feather Blue by Molly Ringle

I’m really disappointed in my response to this one…

The Goblins of Bellwether was one of my favorite books the year it was released. Ringle did an amazing job creating a world out of whole cloth, and populating it with characters who were fascinating and fragile and quirky and wholly engaging. Iwent into her second, All the Better Part of Me expecting to recreate that magic, albeit in a very different way – and was saddened to find that it was a book that just didn’t resonate with me. Continue reading Book Review: Lava Red, Feather Blue by Molly Ringle

Excerpt: The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin

About the Book

Inspired by the true World War II history of the only bookshop to survive the Blitz, a sweeping story of wartime loss, romance, and the enduring power of literature, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and The Lilac Girls Continue reading Excerpt: The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin

Book Review Blurb: Right Place, Right Time by Bob Gruen

I really enjoyed this one, it was a fascinating look at the evolution of rock photography as well as the evolution of rock. I’m a big fan of rock and roll memoirs, and Bob Gruen’s offers all the delightful bits (behind the scenes views at stars, the origins of bands/genres) without many of negatives (addiction, violence, drugs) that seem to plague so many artists (and their memoirs).

The writing style is engaging and easy-going – it’s like listening to your cool relative tell stories about back in the day. I read it on kindle so the pictures were cool but not always that easy to see, fortunately Google was a quick solution to that – as is Bob’s website.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my obligation-free review copy.

Guest Post: Influential Books by Melanie Gibson, Author of Kicking and Screaming: A Memoir of Madness and Martial Arts

Today I’m pleased to introduce you to Melanie Gibson, whose new memoir Kicking and Screaming describes how she used taekwondo to counter the kicking and screaming inside her head… #kickingandscreaming

About the Book  
Melanie Gibson was an independent woman with a good job, multiple college degrees, and a condo in the trendy part of Fort Worth. She also had a few mental illnesses, a minor substance abuse problem, and rotten relationship skills. She was nearing a total mental breakdown and needed a good kick in the pants, literally and metaphorically. Continue reading Guest Post: Influential Books by Melanie Gibson, Author of Kicking and Screaming: A Memoir of Madness and Martial Arts

Excerpt: So Happy Together by Deborah K. Shepherd

About the Book
When Carolyn Mills flees her unhappy childhood to attend the University of Arizona, she meets Peter MacKinley accidentally, but they connect immediately—in the ending-each-other’s-sentences way. Caro is bright, vivacious, and a gifted writer. Peter is kind, quiet, and shows tremendous talent as an actor. They balance each other and are soon inseparable, sharing their love of classic movies, 19-cent bean burritos at Taco Bell, and even painful memories. Caro falls hard. She believes Peter is her everything, and Peter hopes he can be. Continue reading Excerpt: So Happy Together by Deborah K. Shepherd