2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 3 books toward her goal of 245 books.
hide

Book Review: The Girl Who Died by Ragnar Jónasson

This was…odd. It has a very Gothic feel and is dark as I’ve come to expect from Scandinavian stories, but not in the usual way. This is a ghost story through and through – but there’s more to it than that. It just takes a long time to get there… Continue reading Book Review: The Girl Who Died by Ragnar Jónasson

Book Review: Girl, 11 by Amy Suiter Clarke

It’s funny – I find stories about true crime podcasts fascinating, but cannot actually listen to true crime podcasts. Ditto the DIY cold-case-solving websites. I’m fascinated by the concept of regular people – housewives and students and retirees and office workers and random everyday folks – crowd-sourcing solutions to problems that have stumped the “experts” in their relevant fields. I don’t have the patience (or stomach!) to do it myself, but am delighted that those that do have a way to feed their curiosity AND do good at the same time. Continue reading Book Review: Girl, 11 by Amy Suiter Clarke

Book Review: Castle Shade by Laurie R. King

I really love this series! This was not, however, one of my favorite books in it…

I really really enjoyed the beginning – but the big reveal and the wrap-up felt both rushed and unnecessarily drawn-out, and something about the way this one ended started to lose me… Continue reading Book Review: Castle Shade by Laurie R. King

Excerpt: Radar Girls by Sara Ackerman

About the Book

WWII historical fiction inspired by the real women of the Women’s Air Raid Defense, RADAR GIRLS follows one unlikely recruit as she trains and serves in secrecy as a radar plotter on Hawaii. A tale of resilience and sisterhood, it sees the battles of the Pacific through the eyes of these pioneering women, and will appeal to fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff. Continue reading Excerpt: Radar Girls by Sara Ackerman

Book Review: The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

Alex Michaelides writes seriously broken, battered, and fascinating characters! I read The Silent Patient when it came out and really enjoyed the mixture of psychology, trauma, and mystery. The Maidens brings together all those elements in a new, yet somehow familiar-feeling, way, and makes for a marvelous reading experience. Continue reading Book Review: The Maidens by Alex Michaelides