2022 Reading Challenge

2022 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 5 books toward her goal of 260 books.
hide

Book Review: Die Around Sundown by Mark Pryor

I’m a huge fan of Mark Prior and this latest series just reinforces that fandom. I’m not usually one for World War Ii-era historical fiction, but I found newly-occupied Paris to be a wonderful setting that offered tremendous opportunities for conflict in a way that suited rather than distracted from the overlaid story.

Continue reading Book Review: Die Around Sundown by Mark Pryor

Book Review: Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert

About the Book

The suburbs, right now . . .
Seventeen-year-old Ivy’s summer break kicks off with an accident, a punishment, and a mystery: a stranger whose appearance in the middle of the road, in the middle of the night, heralds a string of increasingly unsettling events. As the days pass, Ivy grapples with eerie offerings, corroded memories, and a secret she’s always known—that there’s more to her mother than meets the eye. Continue reading Book Review: Our Crooked Hearts by Melissa Albert

Book Review: Scarecrow Has a Gun by Michael Paul Koslowsky

That was… weird. Really weird. And also really amazing and somewhat aggravating and full of some seriously odious characters. Continue reading Book Review: Scarecrow Has a Gun by Michael Paul Koslowsky

Excerpt: The Codebreaker’s Secret by Sara Ackerman

About the Book

Dual-timeline historical fiction for fans of Chanel Cleeton and Beatriz Williams, THE CODEBREAKER’S SECRET is a story of codebreaking, secrets, murder, romance and longing.

1943 HONOLULU

Cryptanalysist Isabel Cooper manuevers herself into a job at Station Hypo after the attack on Pearl Harbor, determined to make a difference in the war effort and defeat the Japanese Army by breaking their coded transmissions. When the only other female codebreaker at the station goes missing, Isabel suspects it has something to do with Operation Vengeance, which took out a major enemy target, but she can’t prove it. And with the pilot she thought she was falling for reassigned to a different front, Isabel walks away from it all. Continue reading Excerpt: The Codebreaker’s Secret by Sara Ackerman

Guest Post: What’s With All the Mafia Stories?by Mark Rubinstein, Author of Assassin’s Lullaby

Today I’m pleased to introduce you to Mark Rubinstein, whose new novel Assassin’s Lullaby is one of the latest in a long line of “mob stories” – this time, focusing on the Odessa mafia. Here he offers his thoughts on why stories of organized crime are so well-entrenched in our culture – and imaginations… Enjoy!

The Guest Post

What’s With All the Mafia Stories?
by Mark Rubinstein, Author of Assassin’s Lullaby

Whether it’s The Godfather, Goodfellas, Casino, Scarface, Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, a Jack Reacher novel, or crime novels by Don Winslow, Nelson DeMille, Dennis Lehane, James Patterson, or other bestselling authors, the mafia will likely make an appearance.  Continue reading Guest Post: What’s With All the Mafia Stories?by Mark Rubinstein, Author of Assassin’s Lullaby