2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 3 books toward her goal of 245 books.
hide

Book Review: The Nameless Ones by John Connolly

I love this series so much! While I am a big fan of Louis and Angel, I must confess that I wanted a lot more Charlie – and even a lot more Louis and Angel… For a book focused on them, vast swaths of it felt more like an exegesis on the Balkan Wars, and I must confess as a result it was not my favorite of the books… It did not really feel like it was advancing the main storyline, so much as that it was part 2 of book 17 in the series (A Book of Bones) – and that also wasn’t one of my favorites. Continue reading Book Review: The Nameless Ones by John Connolly

Guest Post: On Writing: The Addiction and the Cure by Catherine Gentile, Author of Sunday’s Orphan

Today I’m pleased to bring you a guest piece by author Catherine Gentile, whose recent novel Sunday’s Orphan came out just a few weeks ago. Enjoy!

On Writing: The Addiction and the Cure

by Catherine Gentile 

I’m up to my eyeballs with activities related to the release of my third book, Sunday’s Orphan, a novel set in Georgia in 1930 during the Jim Crow era. Sunday’s Orphan, bobbed in and out of my life over the span of twenty-plus years and entailed memorable visits to Georgia to research specific details, take photos, sniff the loamy soil, then return home and incorporate insights gained into the genre of historical fiction. I loved every second of the process—well, almost every second—and swore, once I completed the last round of edits, that it was time to retire.  Continue reading Guest Post: On Writing: The Addiction and the Cure by Catherine Gentile, Author of Sunday’s Orphan

Excerpt: The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski

About the Book

For fans of Lisa Jewell, Aimee Molloy, and Joshilyn Jackson, an upmarket suspense novel from a multi-award-winning author about a tightknit group of suburban mothers who invite a new neighborhood mom into their fold, and the fallout the night of the annual block party, when secrets from the past come back to haunt them… Continue reading Excerpt: The Mother Next Door by Tara Laskowski

Book Review: Clockwork, Curses and Coal (Punked Up Fairy Tales, #2) by Rhonda Parrish (Editor)

I quite enjoyed this collection of clever re-imaginings of characters and concepts from familiar fairy tales as well as gas-lit confections spun of whole cloth. The book opens very strongly with what was, for me, the most engaging story of the entire anthology. The Iron Revolution by Christina Ruth Johnson was marvelous and agrees definitely on my watch list now. Her twists and characterizations were engaging and grabbed me from the opening salvo with their evocative imagery. Continue reading Book Review: Clockwork, Curses and Coal (Punked Up Fairy Tales, #2) by Rhonda Parrish (Editor)

Book Review Blurb: Take a Look at the Five and Ten by Connie Willis

I love Connie Willis – from her full-length novels to her novellas like this one, she has such a magical way with language… She captures the magic of human experience – for good and for ill – with such a marvelous panache. The writing in a Connie Willis story is always amazing, and this was no exception. But it’s in her characters that she really shines… This story lives and breathes because of the skill with which Willis presents her personalities, from the good-hearted Ori to the selfish Jillian and Sloane (Ori’s sort-of-maybe-once-removed extended family members), from the well-intentioned Lassiter to the exceptional Grandma Elving. I found myself laughing, smiling, cringing and sighing at the way this extended family lived over, under, and through each other’s experiences. It was a delightful and quick read and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my obligation-free review copy.