2022 Reading Challenge

2022 Reading Challenge
Jill Elizabeth has read 5 books toward her goal of 260 books.
hide

Book Review: The Monster’s Bones by David K. Randall

What an absolutely fascinating story this was! I listened to this one, and it’s the first non-fiction book I’ve done in audio. I wasn’t sure if it would work well, since my attention wanders more with audiobooks, since I tend to multi-task while listening. I was worried that a non-fiction story, requiring more attention to […]

Excerpt: Good Husbands by Cate Ray

About the Book

For fans of Whisper Network and My Dark Vanessa, Good Husbands is an electrifying psychological drama about three strangers drawn together by a shocking revelation about their husbands, and the power of women to reclaim their voices and control their own destinies.

He said, she said. Who do you believe?

Jessica, Stephanie, […]

Excerpt: Home So Far Away by Judith Berlowitz

About the Book

Inspired by the life of a relative, and told in fictional diary entries with illustrations included, HOME FAR AWAY is a riveting and unforgettable debut about 34-year-old chemist Klara Philipsborn, who escapes Germany as the Nazis rise to power, knowing that her politics and her faith make her a target. When war […]

Book Review: Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments by T.L. Huchu

This is a strange series… I was immediately drawn to the construct here – and the absolutely glorious cover art. I really liked the first two-thirds of the first book. It was a marvelous concept and the characters and setting and magical constructs felt fresh and new and engaging. Then the plot twist involving the […]

Book Review AND Excerpt: Never Coming Home by Hannah Mary McKinnon

About the Book

Gone Girl meets Fargo in this deliciously sinister suspense novel about a man who plots his wife’s murder to cash in on her inheritance, only to have his brilliant plan turned around on him.

First comes love, then comes murder

[…]